Lost Planet Airmen

The original Commander Cody & his Lost Planet Airmen was formed in 1967 and back then there wasn't anything like this wild aggregation of longhairs in cowboy shirts, who coalesced into a tight, swinging, rocking unit when they made their debut album, "Lost in the Ozone."  Their eclectic tastes and versatility were unmatched then, as they are today.

Regrouping over fifty years later to record "Back From the Ozone", the classic mix of material on this album finds Bill Kirchen and John Tichy on guitars and "Buffalo" Bruce Barlow on bass, alternating steel duties are Bobby Black, still going strong well into his eighties, and Peter Siegel.  Add drummer Paul Revelli, with pianist Austin de Lone in place of the late George "Commander" Frayne, and Andy Stein on Fiddle and Saxophone, and the Lost Planet Airmen of today is one helluva band…and pulling off some great shows if you’re lucky enough to live nearby.

“Back From The Ozone” opens with the Airmen's classic version of 'Ain't Nothin' Shakin' and holds your attention for the best part of three quarters of an hour before their campfire flickers out as they ti- yi- yippy 'On the Cowboy Trail'.  This may be a reunion, but it's also a supergroup.  Now as then, it is stellar musicians having too much fun.


featured recording

featured ProJECTS

featured recordingS


featured video

Lost Planet Airmen ~ Smoke Smoke Smoke, Berkeley 6/29/19

upcoming tour dates

No items found.